A Wedding in Hawaii. How Original.

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Accepting the unoriginal May 21, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kini @ 8:04 pm

It’s official, I am engaged and planning my wedding in Hawaii. Yay!

Thus begins my struggle of creating a wedding that is all I want it to be while avoiding the cliches of a Hawaii wedding. I’ve already outlawed purple orchids. And there will be no aloha wear for the wedding party. I envision a comfortable garden-style wedding. But here we are in Hawaii with ocean on all sides. Who can resist pictures on the beach in my wedding dress? And perhaps a sushi bar at the reception? Lei for our guests? Hula? Hawaiian music?

How to make it originally ours in perhaps one of the most defined romantic and beautiful places in the world. I have a feeling this will keep me up at night.

What’s with the stress? Let’s keep it in perspective here. I’m GETTING MARRIED! And in Hawaii no less. Life is very, very good.

 

One Response to “Accepting the unoriginal”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Congrats, lady! I just had my wedding on 5/24/08 on Maui and I couldn’t have been happier. Now that I’m back I am totally going through withdraw. I, too, tried to avoid the whole cheesey Hawaiian theme stuff. I worked with a company called First Class Weddings, and they did a great job of helping out and keeping me away from purple orchids (haha) and grass skirts. šŸ™‚

    Feel free to write if you have any questions or could use a hand with something. šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

