A Wedding in Hawaii. How Original.

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Finding the fun May 28, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kini @ 1:06 am

I’ve been stressing myself out lately trying to determine just where we will have this wonderful event. It’s only the most important day of our lives, the best party we’ll ever throw, and something I’ve been dreaming of for years.

So, yeah, it stresses me out. And that stresses me out.

This should be fun! It should be rewarding! I should be thrilled everyday that I wake up and realize I GET TO PLAN MY WEDDING!

I’ve adopted a bit of a coping strategy that I’m really enjoying. It goes like this… Focus on something fun. Simple, no? And it works like magic.

A few weeks ago when I was up to my eyeballs in Internet research for venues and at a complete loss as to where to start, I found myself at the mall suddenly walking into Tiffany’s to look at wedding bands. Needless to say, I tried some on, felt elated that my left ring finger could get even more gorgeous, and I left the store giddy with the sing-song thought “I’m getting married!”

Fast-forward a few weeks when I am once again in a tailspin. This time because I just can’t fathom how all these costs can get squeezed into our budget. My chest tightens, I’m anxious to make a decision but terrified that decision will influence every other detail. And so what do I do? I fold paper. I’ve taken up origami cranes as both a wedding exercise and a hopeful decoration. I’ll fill you in more on that later. The point is, I can escape from the stress and find happiness and satisfaction in folding small paper birds.

I intend to carry this lesson with me. DJ cancels at the last minute? I’ll research makeup styles. Argument over seating arrangements? I’ll craft my guest book. When the big stuff feels like it’s crushing me, I’ll seek out the tiny items that make me smile. Big or small, it will all add up to MY DAY.

 

Leave a Reply

