A Wedding in Hawaii. How Original.

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I have an audience! July 3, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kini @ 1:50 pm

Woohoo! Thank you to those that have stumbled here and to the two brave souls who have posted encouraging comments, I am so honored.

I need to let you know that I started this blog without really identifying what I wanted to get out of it. I have a personal blog that I use to update friends and family (and a few strangers) about my life in Hawaii. And I am not shy to admit that I am obsessed with most of the more popular wedding sites and blogs. When I first started reading Wedding Bee I thought “oh, I MUST become a bee!” And that is what pushed me to create this wedding focused blog. However, I don’t know if a bee future is in the cards for me. Maybe, maybe not. Until I know for sure, I’m going to try to keep this blog anonymous. I may slip up here or there but for the most part I’ll try not to tell you exactly who I am, but rather what I’m all about.

What I’m all about today is a bit of wedding focused frustration. Surprise, surprise, huh?

Currently my fiance and I are trying to decide on our venue. We’re under the gun because we gave ourselves our own deadline and he feels adamant that he needs to give his friends and family as much notice as possible. We both want to get married in May 2009. I have my eye on Sunday the 24th. No particular reason why, maybe we can explore that later. Anyhoo… we want to make a decision NOW! We have two places we like pretty well. They are as different as two places could be. Let me tell you about them and maybe you can help me gain some clarity…

Fabulous Wedding Location #1:

Centrally located on Oahu. A quick drive or cab ride from Waikiki (where our guests will be staying). This location is a private club. Food, alcohol, tables/chairs, etc all included. Which I think makes it fabulously easy for us to plan it. But I do worry that we won’t be able to personalize it too much. We really, really like the vibe of this place. It feels very us. However, it does not have a view. It is not on the ocean. This option is probably slightly less expensive than option #2. Since food is included in this place, we need to do a tasting before we can really make up our minds, right? I never would have thought arranging a tasting could be so challenging. This place doesn’t particularly make it easy.

Fabulous Wedding Location #2

Not centrally located. It’s a drive to this place. And for that reason we felt strongly that we needed to provided buses for our guests. Do you know how expensive buses are?! Pretty much doubled the location fee. This location is stunningly beautiful and oceanfront. It does not include anything except the view so we’d need to bring in rentals, a caterer, lighting and stuff like that. This location doesn’t feel as much like us but we both agree it is stunningly beautiful and would be a true delight for our guests. It is probably slightly more expensive than option #1.

Uh, so anyone want to help us make up our minds?

 

4 Responses to “I have an audience!”

  1. amiatead Says:

    hmmm. OK, so here is my two cents (for whatever it’s worth since you’ve known me say, 2 minutes, in the blog world. your concerns about location 2 are valid – you would need to provide transportation in my opinion, and i can imagine how much that would cost on the island. for option 1: i believe that you truly personalize your day in your decor and your stationery, and it sounds like you will be able to do that, and you’d have a larger budget to do that with. a view is important, but your guests will be staying in waikiki and already have the view at their hotels so i don’t think it’s a deal breaker.

    it doesn’t surprise me about the tasting, most places are notorious for not providing them. i would do as much research as you can to try to find brides who have been married there to get their opinions of the food before booking, if they won’t let you do a tasting.

    all things considered, i think you’ll be happier overall with option 1.

    i hope this helps!

  2. cari Says:

    Hi Kini šŸ™‚

    I found you again from weddingbee. I recently added all the girls to the reader on google and realized that this is you šŸ™‚ so i wanted to leave you a comment so you could say that your audience grew šŸ™‚

    it’s me crazyloveHI/pinkmochiball šŸ™‚ hahah yah i guess you could say i’m stalking you! eeks šŸ™‚ you’re my inspiration that’s why šŸ™‚ not sure if you can see my website but it’s dinky so no need to look. i just started it with my random babbling as you can see šŸ™‚

    anyways since i think i know a little about the two places i’ll put my vote in for #2 because you can make it your own. Im leaning slightly toward your place instead of luana hills but not sure yet. so many things to think about because we too would end up having to get a shuttle. okay this is long talk to you soon! šŸ™‚

  3. cari Says:

    whoops i put in the wrong address name for my website…here is the correct one…i changed it haha. i am tired can you tell?

  4. Jenna Says:

    Just wanted to let you know that I’ve been reading and I will be featuring a link to your blog on Sunday!

    And I agree with everything Ami said. She’s so smart. Listen to her.


Leave a Reply

