A Wedding in Hawaii. How Original.

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Money, Money, Money November 19, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kini @ 2:11 pm

I’m been back at the wedding grindstone lately. I promised myself I would book all of our remaining vendors by the end of November. Those vendors being responsible for: cake, flowers, DJ, videography. Yikes! I made really, really good headway on all of them. I have met with many options, researched the hell out of every category, and have a good idea of what I want to do. The problem is this:

26011383_1775530cbe_b

Yup. Money.

See here, I made a mistake. The only mistake I think I’ve really made in this whole wedding planning process. I built my budget around what I thought things probably cost. Sure, I asked a few folks. Sure, I looked at the silly percentage breakdowns the Knot provides. But I didn’t really research with any actual vendors when I decided what I was willing to pay.

The consequence for such a mistake? Frustrating moments that result in me on the phone with the DJ thinking “what the hell, you’re double my budget?!” and walking out of the videographer’s office today trying to rationalize spending $150 more on an item I never had at the top of my priority list.

I’m wiling to face the facts that I made a mistake. And I’m a realist. So as I sit here typing, I’ve decided to pay the $100 over my budget for the wedding cake. Because it’s a WEDDING CAKE, it tastes superb, and I really, really like the woman who is making it. I’m also going to swallow my pride and realize that flowers cost more than I thought they would. Even if we decide to DIY all the centerpieces, we’re still going to come in exactly where I budgeted.

As far as booking all these vendors by the end of November? Not. Gonna. Happen. No way. I think I’ll book the cake today beause I really do love her, and her cake that much. Other than that, I’m going to sit her and obsess a little bit more. I might even open my excel chart again and squint my eyes – trying to figure out how to make the numbers add up to less.

 

2 Responses to “Money, Money, Money”

  1. Wedding Poop Says:

    Girl, I hear you on the whole budget thing. :oP

    Ohh..and I’ve nominated you for the Uber Amazing Blog Award! Check out my blog for details. :o)

  2. I am havign the same problem! I used budget calculators and booked my venue before really researching all the other details, not realizing how much they cost in my area. I researched average costs, but since we are doing a seaside town, people tend to be way more expensive. We could get people from elsewhere, but they all say we need to include accomodations, so it doesn’t really save any money. I am constantly on Excel trying to move numbers to make it work. Very frustrating!


Leave a Reply

